Interim CTO / Head of Engineering

Interim CTO / Head of Engineering

I took over the overall technical responsibility for a start-up company in the early existence phase (post-seek). This included strategic and operational aspects.

On the strategic side, I realigned the technical USP. The goal was to provide sufficient protection for the technology. Through detailed analyses of the entire technology, I was able to identify the area where development should be focused. Through a focused literature and patent search, I was able to combine the existing technology with a new one. Through simulation I was able to confirm the potential of this combined technology.

An FTO (Freedom to Operate) analysis showed that the new approach was patentable. As a result, I drafted the invention disclosure and prepared the cooperation with a renowned patent attorney’s office.

I prepared the plan and budget for the technical development of the company. From this, I defined and prioritised the necessary actions.

My operational tasks included the experimental testing of the new technology. For this purpose, I designed and built a functional model. It was important for me to find the right way between the greatest possible significance and the use of the least possible financial resources. I conducted and evaluated most of the experiments myself. The results confirmed the predictions from the simulations.

In addition to the technical aspects, I represented the company to the outside world, be it in front of customers, investors, press representatives and interested parties. I explored different funding possibilities (Swiss and European innovation programmes) and took over the responsibility of the technical and IP parts for an application to the EIC (European Innovation Council).

I defined the job profiles of the necessary staff for the establishment of a professional development epartment.

Objectives and key figures

  • Strategic orientation analysed and redefined
  • New technological approaches checked with simulations
  • FTO clarified
  • Patenting analysed and prepared
  • Overall plan for the technical development created (budget, time, measures, priorities, resources)
  • Functional models designed, built, and tested
  • Job profiles created for the new employees in development department
  • Efficient and flexible IT environment implemented

April 2021 – Today

Budget 100’000 CHF

Working with five people

Start-up in B2B product development

Interim CTO / Head of Engineering

Interim CTO / Head of Engineering

Ich habe die technische Gesamtverantwortung für ein Start-up-Unternehmen in der frühen Existenzphase (Post-Seek) übernommen. Dies beinhaltete strategische und operative Aspekte.

Auf der strategischen Seite habe ich den technischen USP neu ausgerichtet. Ziel war ein ausreichender Schutz der Technologie. Durch detaillierte Analysen der gesamten Technologie konnte ich den Bereich identifizieren, auf dem sich die Entwicklung konzentrieren sollte. Durch eine fokussierte Literatur- und Patentrecherche konnte ich die vorhandene Technologie mit einer neuen kombinieren. Durch Simulationen konnte ich das Potential dieser kombinierten Technik bestätigen.

Eine FTO (Freedom to Operate)-Analyse zeigte, dass der neue Ansatz patentierbar ist. Daraufhin habe ich die Erfindungsmeldung verfasst und die Zusammenarbeit mit einem renommierten Patentanwalt-Büro ich vorbereitet.

Für die technische Entwicklung des Unternehmens habe ich den Gesamtplan und das Budget erstellt. Daraus habe ich die notwendigen Massnahmen definiert und priorisiert.

Zur meinen operativen Aufgaben gehörte die experimentelle Überprüfung der neuen Technologie. Dazu habe ich ein Funktionsmuster entworfen und aufgebaut. Wichtig war mir, den richtigen Weg zwischen möglichst grosser Aussagekraft und den Einsatz möglichst geringer finanzieller Mittel zu finden. Die meisten Experimente habe ich selbst durchgeführt und ausgewertet. Die Ergebnisse bestätigten die Voraussagen aus den Simulationen.

Neben den technischen Aspekten habe ich das Unternehmen nach aussen vertreten, sei es vor der Kunden, Investoren, Pressvertreter und Interessierte. Ich habe verschiedene Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten erodiert (Schweizerische und Europäische Innovationsprogramme) und für einen Antrag ans EIC (European Innovation Council) die Verantwortung der technischen und IP-Teile übernommen.

Für den Aufbau einer professionellen Entwicklungsabteilung habe ich die Jobprofile der notwendigen Mitarbeiter:innen definiert.

Ziele und Kennzahlen

  • Strategische Ausrichtung analysiert und neu definiert
  • Neue technologische Ansätze mit Simulationen überprüft
  • FTO abgeklärt
  • Patentierung analysiert und vorbereitet
  • Gesamtplan für die technische Entwicklung erstellt (Budget, Zeit, Massnahmen, Prioritäten, Ressourcen)
  • Funktionsmuster entworfen, gebaut und getestet
  • Jobprofile für die neuen Mitarbeiter:innen in der Entwicklung erstellt
  • Effiziente und flexible IT-Umgebung implementiert

Ab April 2021

Budget 100’000 CHF

Zusammenarbeit mit fünf Personen

Startup in der B2B-Produktentwicklung